Library Hours

Mon & Thu 10 AM – 8 PM
Tue & Wed 10 AM – 6 PM
Fri 10 AM – 5 PM
Sat 9 AM – 4 PM
Sun Closed
eLounge 10 AM - 4 PM, Mon - Fri
Library Hours

We Recommend

I have selected one new title in our collection for each reading level. Let me know if you read them and what you think! – Ms Penny :)  

For Teens:


A Jewish Soldier in Hitler’s Army

Georg Rauch

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

As a young adult in wartime Vienna, Georg Rauch helped his mother hide dozens of Jews from the Gestapo behind false walls in their top-floor apartment and arrange for their safe transport out of the country. His family was among the few who worked underground to resist Nazi rule. Then came the day he was drafted into Hitler’s army and shipped out to fight on the Eastern front as part of the German infantry–in spite of his having confessed his own Jewish ancestry. Thus begins the incredible journey of a nineteen year old thrust unwillingly into an unjust war, who must use his smarts, skills, and bare-knuckled determination to stay alive in the trenches, avoid starvation and exposure during the brutal Russian winter, survive more than one Soviet labor camp, and somehow find his way back home. Unlikely Warrior is Rauch’s true account of this extraordinary adventure.


Praise for Unlikely Warrior

When Rauch was drafted into Hitler’s army (though he admitted to having Jewish heritage), he was stationed on the Russian Front, facing the constant threat of death from hunger, the elements, and Soviet soldiers . . . A fascinating and intriguing look at the era.

“An exceptionally well-written account of unimaginable hardship, it’s also an engaging read that serves as powerful testimony to the insanity of war and the human will to survive.” – Publishers Weekly, STARRED

A fascinating account of what it was like for a partial Jew to serve in the German military during World War II. Rauch’s experiences and hardships dramatically depict the physical and emotional struggles of a ‘Mischling’ during the Third Reich.

When Rauch was drafted into Hitler’s army (though he admitted to having Jewish heritage), he was stationed on the Russian Front, facing the constant threat of death from hunger, the elements, and Soviet soldiers . . . A fascinating and intriguing look at the era.

For 8-12 Year Olds:

The Penderwicks in Spring

by Jeanne Birdsall   (Author)


With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.  Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart. Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what’s hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

For Beginner Readers:

Kung Pow Chicken #1: Let’s Get Cracking! (A Branches Book) 

by Cyndi Marko   (Author)

kun pow

Kung Pow Chicken is the superhero everyone has been waiting for! This series is part of Scholastic’s early chapter book line called Branches, which is aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow! In this exciting full-color series, Gordon Blue transforms into Kung Pow Chicken, an avian superhero who fights crime in the city of Fowladelphia. The first book in the series kicks off when Gordon’s birdy senses lead him to a festival. Suddenly, POOF! Feathers fill the air and shivering naked chickens are everywhere. Why have all these chickens lost their feathers? Forced to wear wooly sweaters, the city itches for a hero. Kung Pow Chicken hops into his Beakmobile to save the day!

For Little Ones:


by Sarah Weeks (Author), David Small (Illustrator)


A sassy, delicious picture-book gem from award-winning author Sarah Weeks and Caldecott Medal winner David Small. Glamourpuss has it all. She has style. She has charm. And she knows how to strike a pose. Glamourpuss loves being the center of attention. So when an unwelcome guest (a dog, no less!) steals the spotlight with some tasteless bow-wowing and undignified tail-wagging, Glamourpuss worries that she’s going to fall out of fashion. Is there room for only one superstar in this mansion? When Glamourpuss makes her most majestic move to find out, the result is pure purrfection.

And for everyone:

Edward Hopper Paints His World 

by Robert Burleigh   (Author), Wendell Minor   (Illustrator)

 ed hooper

As a boy, Edward Hopper knew exactly what he wanted to be when he grew up: on the cover of his pencil box, he wrote the words EDWARD HOPPER, WOULD-BE ARTIST. He traveled to New York and to Paris to hone his craft. And even though no one wanted to buy his paintings for a long time, he never stopped believing in his dream to be an artist. He was fascinated with painting light and shadow and his works explore this challenge.

Edward Hopper’s story is one of courage, resilience, and determination. In this striking picture book biography, Robert Burleigh and Wendell Minor invite young readers into the world of a truly special American painter (most celebrated for his paintings “Nighthawks” and “Gas”).


501 E. Lincoln Highway Coatesville, PA 19320